Christmas · Movies

My favorite Christmas movies

It’s Nov. 18, and I’ve officially accepted that Christmas is coming.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas. But I think there’s a certain point in November when it’s OK to start decorating, shopping and caroling. And today is the day.

So to kick off this Christmas season, I thought I would leave you with my favorite holiday movies.

  • How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I actually prefer the cartoon, where the Grinch is voiced by Boris Karloff, but the Jim Carrey version is just as good. And funnier.
  • Elf. SANTA! I KNOW HIM!
  • It’s a Wonderful Life.
  • Polar Express. As a 14-year-old, this movie brought the magic of Christmas back. A few years prior to that, Santa left my brother and I a Polar Express-inspired gift—one of my top Christmases.
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas.
  • Jingle All the Way.
  • The Santa Clause.
  • White Christmas.
  • The Muppet Christmas Carol.
  • The Holiday.
  • While You Were Sleeping. Not overly Christmasy, but a great alternative if you’re not looking for something that screams red and green.
  • The claymation Christmas movies are also must-sees.

Tonight, put on your comfiest PJs and fuzzy socks, grab a blanket and a cup of hot chocolate, and curl up on the couch with one of these flicks.

‘Tis the season, after all.

Leave a Reply

