Food · Kentucky · Newport · Things To Do · What I Ate

What I Ate: Newport Pizza Company

Another thing I love is pizza. I could eat it every. single. day. Yum!

We have our normal pizza haunts in Cincinnati, but across the river, in Northern Kentucky, lies a hidden gem: the Newport Pizza Company. The outside doesn’t look too promising, but the inside packs a punch. It reminded me of a pizza place I went to in college—cozy, bar-like atmosphere and the option of pizza-by-the-slice for the on-the-go types.

And the pizza: thin crust, minimal sauce, heaping amount of toppings.

photo(4)

We had the Pineapple Express, which is topped with the traditional pineapple and ham, but it also had bacon and pepperoni on it. All on top of Newport Pizza’s homemade sauce and cheese blend.

What I loved the most about the pizza, besides the crust obviously, was the spice blend in the sauce. Usually, I add a few shakes of red pepper flakes to my pizza, but not this one. It was tomato-y, with just the right amount of heat.

photo(3)

The only thing I wasn’t a huge fan of was the sogginess of the middle of the pizza. But I just grabbed a fork. 🙂

We also ordered the Boardwalk Fries for an appetizer, and they were awesome. They were the type of fries that still had some of the potato skins on them. Added some salt and a side of ketchup, and they were perfect.

Newport Pizza Company

601 Monmouth St., Newport

859-261-4900

Leave a Reply

