50 States · Travel

California Calling

It’s disgusting and rainy in Cincinnati today, and I’m longing for some sunshine. (I think Casper is too—he seems to be even lazier when it’s dreary out.) So I thought “Why not plan a trip to California?”

images

I went to Cali when I was 9 or 10, and we went to Disneyland, Sea World, Universal Studios and the San Diego Zoo. That’s literally all I can remember. If you have kids, Disneyland is fun, but it’s nothing compared to Disney World, at least in my opinion. It’s cool because it’s the original park designed by Walt Disney, but it’s rather outdated and much smaller than you might think.

Fly into LAX, do what you want to do in L.A., then rent a car and drive to San Francisco or Napa (these are the cities I want to visit when I go back). It’s about a five hour drive from L.A. to San Fran, but I think it would be worth the drive. If there’s something along the way you want to see, you can stop and see it. Don’t go with a set plan, just enjoy the drive. And from San Francisco, it’s a little under an hour to Napa. You’ll want the peace and quiet of Napa after the big city.

In L.A.:

In San Francisco:

In Napa:

  • Stay at a bed and breakfast
  • Tour wineries and drink lots of wine

And as always, I’ll find more things I want to do while I’m there after I look at brochures or talk to the concierge.

Leave a Reply

