Cooking · Food

A spin on tacos

One of our go-to meals is beef tacos. It takes about 15 minutes to brown hamburger, add taco seasoning and prepare the toppings. Easy, simple and yummy.

But I’m getting a little tired of tacos.

A while ago, I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest for chicken tacos in the crockpot. Sooo good!

Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos

  • photo1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts (about three, depending on how big the pieces are)
  • Juice from 2 limes
  • 1/2 c. cilantro (you can add more or less, like I did, since hubby doesn’t like cilantro)
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 tsp. dried onions (I used half of a diced onion because I couldn’t find dried onions in my grocery store)
  • 1/2 c. water

Add all ingredients to crockpot. Cook on low all day, or cook on high for four hours. Once chicken is cooked, use a fork to shred it, and stir well. Serve in tortillas with taco toppings.

*Note: I left my crockpot on low for about seven hours, which was a bit too long—the juices burned to the sides. I would suggest leaving it on low until the chicken is done (if you’re going to be around to check on it), then put it on warm to keep it to temperature.

 

Leave a Reply

