Holiday

At a Glance: 2012

2012 is coming to a close. And surprisingly, I’m having a hard time wrapping my mind around it. I mean, 2012 feels like it just started.

And since the year is over, it’s time to reflect on the things that happened in my life (see below) and the world.

Queen Elizabeth II celebrated her Diamond Jubilee February (later in the year, the Duchess of Windsor announced she and Prince William are having a baby). A lone gunman killed 12 people and injured 58 at a midnight showing of The Dark Knight Rises on my birthday. The whole world had its eyes on London for the 2012 Summer Olympics, where we watched in surprise as Ryan Lochte surpassed Michael Phelps in the pool. President Obama went head-to-head with Mitt Romney and won, giving him another four years in office. On Dec. 14, 20 children and six adults were shot to death in an elementary school in Newtown, Conn. Newsweek announced they will become a digital-only publication after 2012. The world was predicted to end on Dec. 21, but it didn’t. Oh, and today, Kim Kardashian announced that she’s pregnant with Kanye West’s baby.

Hollywood and the sports, literary, political and science worlds said goodbye to a fair number of their members this year. Among them are astronauts Neil Armstrong and Sally Ride; singers Whitney Houston, Etta James and Andy Williams; actors Michael Clarke Duncan and Andy Griffith; writers Ray Bradbury, Nora Ephron and Maurice Sendak; Dick Clark; senator Arlen Specter, and Gen. H. Norman Schwarzkopf, Jr., leader of Operation Desert Storm.

Like most people, so many things have changed for me this year.

  • I got a new car! And I love it, even though I miss Charlie, my 2001 Ford Escape (may he rest in peace).
  • I graduated from college with a bachelor’s degree in journalism.
  • I got married to my best friend and the love of my life. Our friends and family came from all over the Midwest to celebrate with us.
  • We went to NYC for our honeymoon; then, we moved to Ohio. Apparently, it gets really hot and really cold here, much like Missouri.
  • We adopted a dog, Casper, from local foster organization. He’s neurotic, but a great cuddle buddy.
  • My dad left the corporate world, and my parents bought a resort in Minnesota, which means that they also moved to Minnesota. For the first time in my life, I didn’t move with them.
  • I officially became a writer. I write and edit for Soapbox Media as a freelancer, and I love it.
  • Oh, I’ve worked at the same job for 1.8 years (Maurice’s), which is the longest I’ve ever been continuously employed.

Tonight, I’ll be spending NYE curled up on the couch with a glass of champagne and watching the ball drop. And for the first time, I won’t be making any resolutions because I never keep them. I’m just going to surprise myself with what I accomplish in 2013.

Leave a Reply

