Sunset Bay

So my parents bought a resort

No, your eyes aren’t deceiving you.

After 13 years with Varsity Contractors, my dad said goodbye to the corporate world on Nov. 2. It was time for a change of pace, and he decided to follow his dream of owning and operating a resort.

In December, my parents will be moving back to Minnesota, where they will be running Sunset Bay Resort on Dead Lake in Richville, Minn. (That’s about 2 1/2 hours northwest of the Twin Cities, for those of you who haven’t memorized a map of Minnesota.)

My parents have always had a plan (my mom is known for her to-do lists), and even though this isn’t something either one of them saw happening five years ago, it’s something they’re doing together. And they’re happy, which is what’s most important, right?

So, to tell you a little bit about “Casa Wherley”:

  • There are currently seven cabins, but by next summer, there will be eight. My parents, will be spending the frigid Minnesota winter remodeling the old owners’ home, currently storage, into an extended-stay cabin.
  • Each cabin rental comes with a 14′ fishing boat or dock space and boat launch for your boat. There’s also a pontoon available for rent.
  • There’s a sandy beach and swimming area, plus an assortment of outdoor activities.
  • And if it rains, there’s an indoor game room with foosball, a ping-pong table, board games, etc. for family bonding time.

If you’re looking for a Minnesota getaway and familiar faces, book a stay at Sunset Bay! (I should be a catchphrase writer…)

And if you live in Minnesota and are handy with power tools or know a lot about fish, let my parents know. They’d be glad to have an extra hand or 12 as they get things ready for the 2013 season.

Some days, I think my parents are crazy. But I’m extremely proud of them. They’ve always encouraged my brother and I to shoot for the moon, and now it’s our turn to support for them.

 

 

One thought on “So my parents bought a resort

  1. Nice post, I’ve been wondering. You do a nice job with your blog. Not just a random blog stalker, your mom’s cousin!

Leave a Reply

