Voting

Election Day 2012

As a journalist, it’s been engrained in me that my political opinions and endorsements should be kept to myself. And even though I’m writing this post, I intend to keep it that way.

The 2008 election was my first voting experience. I stood in line for about three hours to vote in undoubtedly the most historical Presidential election in United States history. I felt the power I have as an American, a then-18-year-old and as a woman.

There was never a doubt in my mind that I was going to vote in 2008, or who I was going to vote for. Women’s suffrage is something I believe very strongly in, as is the power of the people. Because of Susan B. Anthony and the Suffragettes (and those that fought for equality for African-Americans) everyone in the U.S. can vote.

This election is a tough one. Many Americans want to see a fresh face in the White House; others don’t want America’s leadership to change. As a resident of Ohio and someone who hates finger pointing, I’m ready for this election to be over, no matter the outcome. And along with an entire nation, I’ll be watching tonight to see who the winner is.

If you haven’t voted, PLEASE go do so. You’ll get a cute ‘I voted’ sticker. (Maybe. Here in Harrison, they weren’t handing them out. But I wanted one.) Make sure to do a few minutes of research on local candidates before you go to the polls. They’re important too.

“Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected and handed on for them to do the same.” — Ronald Reagan

Leave a Reply

