On My Bookshelf

“My dear, I don’t give a damn.”

Dresses made from yards of rich silk. Magnificent parties. Tables laden with food. Boys fawning over her. One hundred servants to wait on her hand and foot.

This was the life of Scarlett O’Hara at Tara before 1861, but then the Civil War began and Scarlett’s life was turned upside down.

By the time Reconstruction came to an end in Georgia, Scarlett had married three times (Charlie Hamilton, Frank Kennedy and Rhett Butler); had three children, one by each husband; had done hard labor for the first time in her life; made her own living; supported her whole family; killed a Yankee; and made more enemies than friends. But, as was her way, Scarlett liked to put things on the back burner with the phrase: “I can’t think of it today. I’ll think of it tomorrow.”

For years, my aunt has been trying to get me to read Gone with the Wind and/or see the movie. But a 1,000 page book and four hour movie never appealed to me.

But I should have given this timeless classic a chance years ago. I had a hard time putting it down. Filled with excitement and romance, Gone with the Wind definitely belongs on the bookshelf of every young woman, even though it didn’t end to my liking.

#RhettandScarlett4eva

Leave a Reply

