On My Bookshelf

Into Each Generation, a Slayer is Born…

Like most people my age, the Twilight saga sits on my bookshelf and I’ve seen all of the movies. But I was reading books and watching movies about vampires long before they were glamorous. That’s right, I was a big Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan when I was in junior high (and secretly still am). 

Photo courtesy of imdb.com

That being said, I’ve read and watched my share of vampire books and movies, but nothing has really floated my boat since Buffy went off the air and I closed my copy of Breaking Dawn. That is, until I started reading Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith.

On top of my love for weird TV shows, movies and books, I also have a fascination with some Presidents: Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, John F. Kennedy and Bill Clinton, to be exact. Don’t ask me why — I can’t explain it.

Anyway, fiction aside, Grahame-Smith’s novel makes you want to believe that Lincoln had a secret diary and that the Civil War was fueled by vampires’ need for blood. It opens the door to the unthinkable and lets fantasy take over, even if only for 300+ pages. There’s a movie too, if books aren’t your thing.

And rumor has it that there really is a secret Lincoln diary…

*For those of you who scoff at the twisting of history, read this article from the Washington Times. It reminds us that yes, it’s fiction, but awesome fiction. 

Leave a Reply

