Exploring · Ohio History

You Never Know What You’ll Find

Today I took the advice of my husband’s aunt and visited Hollmeyer Orchards. Hollmeyer isn’t a pick-your-own orchard, but it’s still worth checking out. Plus, it’s been there for years.

It’s known for its selection of apples, but in the summer, Hollmeyer has a variety of fresh produce, such as tomatoes, peaches, cucumbers and beans. There’s also fresh local honey and preserves. Yum!

Hollmeyer Orchards, 3241 Fiddlers Green Road, Cincinnati, Ohio

Jan. to March and June to Dec., Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday, 1 to 5 p.m.

513-574-0663

On my way to Hollmeyer Orchards, I passed a sign that read “Wm. Henry Harrison’s Tomb.” I wanted to see if this sign was pulling my leg, so I stopped in the town of North Bend, Ohio, on my way home. And indeed, on a hill in the town is Harrison’s tomb.

Apparently, Harrison spent most of his adult life in Indiana and Ohio, which is why his tomb is located in North Bend. He was the secretary to the territorial governor, a war hero and President. His famous 1840 Log Cabin and Hard Cider campaign featured the phrase “Tippecanoe and Tyler Too,” which made him famous, even though he only served one month in office.