Journalism · Vox

It’s been awhile

This semester has flown by, but it hasn’t been a walk in the park.

I’ve spent the last 16 weeks as a Scene department editor at Vox magazine. All in all, I spent about 25 hours either in the mag office or working on stuff for the publication. It was a fantastic experience, and I’m not so sure I want it to end.

I’ve learned a lot this semester, such as:

  • How make micro and macro edits
  • How to manage my time and others in order to make deadlines
  • How to deal with reporters when they miss deadlines or have problems during the reporting or writing processes
  • How to write thought-provoking blogs
  • How to tease to content on CoTweet
  • How to pitch original story ideas
  • How to upload content to a content management system

For a better idea of what I did this semester, check out my clips.

Next semester will be different, and I have no idea what I’m going to do without Vox.

Leave a Reply

