Frustration! · Inside Columbia Magazine

I’m not a receptionist

My desk got moved at ICM, and now I sit at the front desk. Like a receptionist. Only I’m not a receptionist, I’m an intern. So now I spend about half my day answering questions for people that come in the front door. But I don’t know the answer to most of these questions, so I have to go ask someone who does. Argh.

I also feel like I’m not learning anything here. I’ve written three stories in three months — waaay less than I did at 417. There I was doing three or more stories a week. Sure I’ve worked on calendars here and a couple “guides”, but I’m not getting to flex my reporting and writing muscles like I thought I would be. And doing research for the editorial assistant’s assignments isn’t a learning experience either.

Sometimes I feel like I’m being taken advantage of by her. And not in a good way.

Leave a Reply

