Intermediate Writing · Uncategorized

It looks like vomit

Our rough draft, or “vomit out”, as Berkley calls it, is due tomorrow. And mine looks just like vomit. My thoughts are so scattered and I feel like I’m relying on the Internet took much at this point, which is fine, as long as I’m able to get in contact with people that can provide me with firsthand information.

So far, I’ve picked my five houses the story:

  • Guitar Mansion
  • Conley House
  • Taylor House
  • Elkins House
  • “Blind” Boone House

I spent last night printing off the National Register of Historic Places application forms for all five houses, which are on record with the Department of Natural Resources. My printer got a major workout — it took about two hours to print all of the information I needed, including clips from the Missourian. From those sources, I have quite a bit of background information, and they highlight the sources that I need to talk to, or attempt to talk to.

I’ve set up interviews with a few of those contacts:

  • Clyde Ruffin, a theater professor at MU, is involved with the restoration of the Boone House
  • The current owners of the Taylor House, which is currently a bed and breakfast

I’ve attempted to contact a few agencies that deal with the historic homes in Missouri, but I haven’t heard back from any of them. I’m hoping that I do in the next few days.

I’m really excited about my story, but I still don’t know how I’m going to narrate it. I kind of want to tell it from the perspective of the houses, but I don’t really want to jump from house to house, using the same POV. It’s also going to be really hard to incorporate attributions if I choose to write it that way. I think it would also be cool to tell it from my POV, like I’m walking through the houses and telling their stories. Hopefully Berkley’s ok with that because I feel that would be the best way to server potential readers.

Leave a Reply

