Intermediate Writing · Journalism

A new challenge

For Intermediate Writing, we work on a long-form piece all semester. We pitch our own topic and research, report and write it.

I was afraid of the assignment at first — I couldn’t think of an interesting topic for the life of me. I spent a lot of time thinking about national topics that I could localize, but I’m not that passionate or interested in these kinds of stories. I like local stories that are for local readers. Simple but interesting service journalism.

To make choosing a topic a little easier, I thought of the publications I could send my story to (ideally, the story we work on will get published). In order to keep it local, I thought about the Missourian, the Trib, Inside Columbia and Columbia Home.

In the end, I only had one good idea: a historic “walk” of Columbia.

This was something I wanted to do for my multimedia project last semester, but it didn’t work out.

I’m really excited to get started on it…I just have to find time to research first….

Leave a Reply

