Journalism

Thinking outside the box

I survived my first week’s worth of ME homework. Hopefully I did well on it. But that’s the least of my journalism woes.

Berkley is asking us to bring three potential story ideas to Intermediate Writing next week. And I have nothing. Absolutely nothing. All of my ideas are ones that belong in small city magazines (think 417 or Inside Columbia). Wedding planning, restaurant/bar hopping, create an outfit by buying one thing from local stores, etc., aren’t the kinds of ideas he wants. That’s service journalism, not real investigative journalism.

Magazine journalism isn’t just about service journalism, it’s about things that people really care about. Part of me didn’t put two and two together.

I need to start being a better journalist and think. Reading newspapers and magazines wouldn’t hurt either, but I have a really hard time getting into newspaper stories, and reading magazines online isn’t any fun. But I have to make myself read. I have to get informed and ask questions, not only of the stories I read, but of myself. I want to chase a story, get it published and get paid.

Most of all, I want people to care about an idea I had.

So far, I have one idea: tuition increases.

Hopefully my exhausted brain comes up with two more…

Leave a Reply

