Editing

Magazines, magazines, magazines

It’s my second semester in J-School, and I’m loving every minute of it, even though sometimes it scares the crap out of me.

I’m taking Intermediate Writing and Magazine Editing, both of which are required. I’m not so worried about IW, but ME has me shaking in my boots.

ME is all about what it takes to be a magazine editor, which is what I want to be one day. I’m excited that what I’m learning in the classroom will be invaluable to me later on, something that I really haven’t experienced yet. At the Missourian, we had to catch our own AP Style errors and spelling mistakes, but other than that, the editors and Aces did the meat of the editing. Not anymore.

I can edit a story, but I can’t give reasons as to why I change things. ME is teaching me not only how to be a better editor, but the reason behind those changes. Some writers will get pissed if you make a change to their copy and not tell them why. As a future editor, I need to know why.

For the rest of my life, the AP Stylebook, local style, Working with Words (WWW) and a dictionary are my best friends.

Leave a Reply

