Great Stories

Good things take time.

After a prolonged editing process, my story about independent bookstores is finally finished. And I’m really proud of it. The long wait for the story to be published was well worth it; I wanted it to be perfect.

I enjoyed working on this story, not just because I love books, but because I learned something along the way. By talking to several independent bookstore owners, I got an insight into the business that I wouldn’t have gotten if I had kept the story centered on only one store.

Liz has been a great editor to work with, and the long edit on Monday cemented this into my brain. She knows her stuff — as does every editor in the Missourian newsroom.

This was my first centerpiece this semester, and I’m glad it was this one that ran that way. I wonder what it will look like in print?

Leave a Reply

