Blue Ridge-Oakland · Derby Ridge

IT’S SCIENCE!!!

I remember when I was in elementary school and got excited about things like science. That excitement left me for quite a few years, but I think I finally got it back because of journalism. The feeling I get when I get sent on assignment and come out with a good story is one I can’t explain. But the best explanation I can offer is when you see a roomful of kids watching cotton candy being made. Or when they see paper burn.

It never ceases to amaze me how kids react to things.

Tuesday night, I attended a MAD Science Night at Derby Ridge Elementary. A team of scientists came and made tornadoes in a bottle, slime, root beer and cotton candy, while teaching science. The scientists also put on a fire, wind and ice show, demonstrating how to test hypotheses with experiments.

Every kid in attendance paid rapt attention to the demonstrations and were so excited about the products they got to take home.

Leave a Reply

