GA Shift

A night at the Missourian

Today was quite the day on GA. Things were pretty dead until after budget, but Liz worked with me on a story idea about independent bookstores. Look for that in the near future.

I worked on a piece about MOREnet, a company that supplies K-12, higher education and libraries with technology and Internet services, which just laid off 11 percent of their employees due to budget cuts. The company went from receiving $14 million in state funds to zero in two years. Crazy.

Tom Warhover, the executive editor of the Missourian, edited the MOREnet piece with me. It was great getting to work one-on-one with the head honcho. He’s a really neat guy, and gave me a couple tips about delving deeper into stories, which I’ll definitely use.

The other article I worked on was a brief about Keep Columbia Safe, urging Columbia residents to vote ‘no’ on Proposition 2. Not really exciting, since I didn’t get to speak with a representative from KCS and only used a news release to write it.

I volunteered to stay late tonight (until 9 p.m.). Someone is supposed to stay late every night in case something urgent comes in over the scanner, and I haven’t done that yet. But tonight I decided to take some initiative and be ‘that’ girl.

A photographer and I were sent out on an entrapment call. I’m still not really sure what that means…especially since when we got to the address, there wasn’t anything there. No sirens. No flashing lights. No police. No nothing. Just a quiet trailer park with a few cats wandering around. *Sigh* It would have made a great addition to my portfolio.

Oh well, maybe next GA shift.

Leave a Reply

