GA Shift

Labor Day staple

I woke up at 4:45 this morning to cover the Heart of America Marathon here in Columbia. Needless to say, I’m extremely tired now.

I was able to write a good chunk of the story before I went to the starting line. I spoke with a few runners after the race and got some good quotes.

I met two adorable little boys who were cheering on their dad. They had homemade signs and “treats” to give their dad when he rounded the midpoint of the race. The photographer that was with me wasn’t at the midpoint with me, so I took some pictures of the kids. They’re not very good, mostly because they were extremely hyperactive children.

I’m not a sports writer, but my article (the one that I found for myself to cover on a slow news day) is a sports story, so it will be in the sports section. I’m pretty sure it will be in the print edition too. Which is exciting.

To read the Missourian article, click here.

Leave a Reply

