GA Shift

Missourian, Day 1

I was really nervous last night about my first day at the Missourian, but as soon as I got to the newsroom, I wasn’t as nervous.

I attended a discussion about renewable energy, hosted by Sen. Kit Bond, R-Mo., on campus. It lead to a longer story that requires more background information, so I’ll get to write that in the next few days.

I wrote my first life story, which was challenging. (See clip here.) The hardest part was saying “hello” to the family member I called whose father had just passed away. I had to write down word for word what I was going to say to because I didn’t want to come off harsh or uncaring, which is key when writing life stories or obits.

All in all, today has been pretty good. I’ll be in the newsroom more this week, even though I don’t have another GA shift until the week after next.

Leave a Reply

