Uncategorized

Post-Orientation

I’m a first year magazine journalism student at Mizzou. For many students in my position, this means that it’s time for the ColumbiaMissourian.com.

Orientation was today. I wasn’t really nervous before, but I am now. I got to thinking how different newspaper writing is from magazine writing, which is what I did all summer at 417. News happens much faster, which means that deadlines are shorter. My first General Assignment shift is tomorrow morning at 8 a.m., even before my first class. I’m working the desk all day, writing breaking news stories and what not. I can leave for classes, don’t worry.

I got my beat today too–I’m on neighborhoods, which I’m really excited about. On the neighborhoods beat, you get to write a little bit of everything, including feature stories. You also get to really know the people that you’re covering. I get my first beat assignment Tuesday at our meeting. Between my General Assignments shift and my beat assignments, I can expect to write about 35-40 clips this semester, which is great for my portfolio. 🙂

Leave a Reply

